Independent Publisher Book Awards – 5000 Reasons to Enter

23 01 2018
Independent Publisher Book Awards

5000 reasons to enter!

The world’s largest book awards contest!

This year, one lucky 2018 IPPY Award medalist will become the 5,000th award winner in our 22 year history of “Recognizing Excellence in Independent Publishing.” Over the years, have all those award-winning books become bestsellers? No, but all 5,000 have received the recognition and credibility that is so important to a book’s PR campaign, and each one is now an “award-winning” book, with an “award-winning” author (not to mention award-winning co-author, illustrator, publisher, whatever the case may be). Award-winner status is a priceless commodity that never goes away.

So, enter your award-worthy books in the 2018 Independent Publisher Book Awards and get the recognition your work deserves. Entry fee is $95 per title, per category until the final entry deadline of February 24, 2018.

Now in their 22nd year, the IPPY Awards are designed to celebrate excellence in independent publishing by presenting gold, silver and bronze medals in a wide variety of subject and regional categories. Winners also receive certificates, award seals, and two tickets to the gala award ceremony in NYC!

Click here for the guidelines and online entry form.
Click here for the printable guidelines and entry form.


There are two ways to enter: online with a credit card or the printable entry form to pay by check. Books (with entry form tucked in the cover) must be sent to the IPPY office by the final deadline of February 24, 2018 (This is a postmark deadline). Results will be announced on about April 10, 2018. The award ceremony will be held on May 29, 2018 at the Copacabana Times Square.

Entry fees are $95 per title/per category. Regional and ebook category entries are just $55 when added to a general category entry for the same title.


Independent publishers, university presses, self-publishers and independent authors who publish books intended for an English speaking audience may enter. Books released between January 1, 2016 and February 24, 2018, or with 2016-2018 copyrights, are eligible.



Launched in 1996, the Independent Publisher Book Awards are designed to bring increased recognition to the deserving but often unsung titles published by independent authors and publishers. Established as the first unaffiliated awards program (no membership fee required) open exclusively to independents, the “IPPYs” recognize hundreds of the year’s best books, bringing them to the attention of booksellers, buyers, librarians, and book lovers.

The IPPY Awards contest is among the largest and most recognized book awards events in the world, and all independent, university, small press, and self-publishers who produce books intended for the North American market are eligible to enter.

View Categories


View Guidelines



For more details about the IPPY Awards, please contact:

Jim Barnes, Managing Editor & Awards Director / Jenkins Group
Ph: 1.800.644.0133 x 1011 /